How’s your body image?

Frankly, mine sucks.  I came across this article in the NY Times Well blog: http://blogs.psychcentral.com/weightless/2009/11/7-signs-your-body-image-is-bruised-and-5-solutions/ and thought I’d share.  How many signs do you identify with?

On a good day I’d say I identify with 5-6 of the 7 signs.  I’ve always had a pretty low self-esteem, despite growing up surrounded by an incredibly encouraging and loving family and friends.  Part of the problem is that I’m a perfectionist, so I don’t know if I could be satisfied with myself even if I was at my ideal weight.  Last year, when I was closing in on the healthy weight range for my height, I still didn’t think I looked that good, and on the days when I didn’t hate what I saw in the mirror, castigated myself for taking this long to FINALLY get thin.  It’s quite exhausting to beat myself up all the time!  I think I’m ready to make a change.

One of my major goals for 26 (I do birthday resolutions, not New Year’s resolutions) is to start loving my body.  I hope that this time next year we’ll be thinking about starting a family, and I want to enjoy the changes to my body that come with pregnancy, not fear them!  Also, from personal experience I know that children internalize the body messages they get from their parents (my mom was gorgeous but SO critical of herself! more on that later), and the last thing I want to do is continue the cycle of negative self-image in my own kids.

So, starting today, I’m going to post a daily list of things I love about myself, and I encourage you to do the same!  Here goes:

  1. I have a really nice smile.
  2. I’m incredibly loyal.
  3. I have a great singing voice.

Don’t be ashamed!  Tell me how awesome you are in the comments section 🙂

5 Responses

  1. Yay, I love reading your positives!! Cool about your voice. 🙂

    1. I have a cute face
    2. I am smart
    3. I’m a pretty good cook

  2. Goodluck on your blog Kara! I just recently started my own blog and have similar goals. I am 26 and in the process of losing about 20lbs and training for my first ever marathon! I saw your comment on HTP! Keep up the good work!

  3. What a great idea…I wish I had a good singing voice!

    1. I know how to dress my body
    2. I am good at my job
    3. I like my eyes:)

  4. My body image is definitely not the greatest. So I need a pick me up like this!

    1. I love my eyes. They are blue-green and awesome.
    2. My husband eats everything I make. This is a good thing!
    3. My legs are short but they can run.

  5. Kara, this blog is awesome. I am currently eating like garbage (you would be so ashamed) and my stress level/happiness is at an all time low. Maybe your blog will kick start me…I definitely identified with more of those signs than I should…

    1. I’m a very motivated person once I set my mind to something.
    2. I am a responsible pet owner.
    3. I give great wedding toasts. :O)

Leave a Reply

