Silly confession

So, that pumpkin bread I made yesterday.  I STILL haven’t touched it.  24 hours later!  The problem: I’m terrified that if I try it, I’ll love it, and then I won’t stop eating it until it’s all gone.  Stupid, I know, but it comes with the territory if you have a history of overeating.  That’s why I didn’t open my jar of White Chocolate Wonderful peanut butter (which is even more wonderful than it sounds, if you can believe it) for weeks after I bought it!  It was gone the day after I finally took off the lid… :-/

I try not to deprive myself of things I truly love — that tends to trigger a binge more than anything else — but the fact of the matter is I’m still working on my self-control when it comes to certain foods.  So, for now, I don’t buy White Chocolate Wonderful, and the pumpkin loaf remains intact.

Now, to dinner! I snacked on my pomegranate arils with a smidge of sugar while waiting for the husband to come home.  I still haven’t decided if I like pomegranate or not; the arils seemed overly tart to me (and I like tart!), even with some sugar.  Maybe I just got a bad fruit?  How can you tell which pomegranates are ripe?

The husband was kind enough to make ground beef tacos, and they were delish!

IMG_0750

…not so photogenic, however.  Mine had medium salsa and a smidge of cheese on whole grain tortillas (I think they had 5g of fiber each?).  Good work, sweetie!

FYI, the ground beef we used was Organic Prairie.  We’re doing our best to eat ethically these days (hi, Erin!) and really pay attention to the source of our food and the way it was grown/raised, with a focus on local, seasonal produce and humanely raised meat.  Not only is our conscience clearer as a result, but there’s a marked increase in quality without much of a change in price.

Alright, that’s all from me for now.  Good night, and happy Friday!!

One Response

  1. my mom would be so proud of your organic eating. I’m going to be sure to tell her.

Leave a Reply

