Friday’s recap

Good (early) afternoon!  Apologies for my lack of blogging last night; we’ve got a college friend visiting for the weekend and spent most of the evening catching up, watching 30 Rock clips online and laughing up a storm 🙂

Breakfast (unpictured — I hoovered it down FAST!) was the other half of my honey wheat scone from Wednesday’s lunch and two cups of coffee with skim milk.  My favorite coffee in the world is Green Mountain Coffee’s Rain Forest Nut — not only is it slightly sweet, slightly nutty and delicious, but it is also Fair Trade Certified.  According to TransFair USA,

“The Fair Trade Certified™ label guarantees consumers that strict economic, social and environmental criteria were met in the production and trade of an agricultural product…Fair Trade Certification empowers farmers and farm workers to lift themselves out of poverty by investing in their farms and communities, protecting the environment, and developing the business skills necessary to compete in the global marketplace.”

I buy fair trade coffee/tea whenever I have the option; I’m happy to pay a little bit more for a product that helps small-scale, family farmers in developing countries earn a living wage.  Plus, I think it tastes better!

Lunch was an unbelievably delicious sandwich:

IMG_0752

Fresh roasted turkey with cheddar cheese, bacon, grilled onions and lettuce on a whole wheat wrap.  I’d love to tell you I only ate half of this sandwich and saved the rest for later, but that would be a lie 🙂  SO good!

Snacks included an unpictured pear (mmm) and these RiceWorks parmesan and sundried tomato “chips” from the vending machine at work:

IMG_0753

These chips are made with brown rice and are gluten-free, and pretty tasty!  The “chip” texture is really similar to SunChips, but with a little bit of a thicker cut.  Nutrition info wasn’t that bad for the whole bag (I think about 180 calories and 8 grams of fat for the whole thing?), but the seasonings on the chips were pretty salty and a bit too much for me.

I also had about four pieces of dried mango before heading home from work:

IMG_0755

I snacked (more snacks!) on some sliced bell peppers with Laughing Cow cheese before dinner:

IMG_0756

Aren’t our plates pretty?? 🙂  That was totally Matt’s call!

We ordered take-out BBQ for dinner, but all I could stomach was my sweet potato fries:

IMG_0769

I ordered some dee-licious ribs but was completely stuffed after the fries.  All my snacks caught up with me, I guess!  Not to worry, I had them for brunch this morning 🙂

After a few hours of chatting, I brought out the pumpkin bread and had an unpictured piece and a half for dessert.  I’m very proud of my baking skills!

There was no exercise yesterday — I’m still sore from Thursday evening’s yoga class!  I really like the instructor who taught the class, but my legs are not a fan of her tendency to make us hold lunges for long periods of time…Hopefully Barkley and I will get in a nice, long walk today.

Have a great day!  Back later 🙂

Leave a Reply

