No more during

Good morning/early afternoon!  Well, the whole morning workout thing didn’t go exactly as planned (I was wiped), but I’m not giving up hope yet that I can start my day with exercise!  I already get up reasonably early on weekends –before 9 – so I’ll just start tomorrow!  Today’s ab challenge will be completed at the gym – I’ll let you know how it goes!

So anyway, this week I made a decision. After reading about a bunch of my favorite bloggers getting book deals (Healthy Tipping Point’s Caitlin, Eat Live Run’s Jenna, Carrots ‘n Cake’s Tina – congrats to all of you!), I decided that one of my new life goals* is to write a book about my journey to a healthy lifestyle.  In order to write that book, however, I need to stop being a during and FINALLY become an after.

*Side note: here are some of my current big life goals, in no particular order:

  1. Run a marathon
  2. Have happy, healthy babies
  3. Hit my goal weight
  4. Find my passion – I’ve already found the place where I’d like to spend the rest of my career, now I need to find the job that is the best fit for me
  5. Travel to all of the continents (except probably Antarctica!) with Matt

I’ve already accomplished running a half-marathon, getting a graduate degree, finding a job at a place I’m proud to work for and marrying the love of my life!

I’ve been floating in “during” land for over a year now — not forgetting about weight loss but not actively losing weight either — and I hate it here.  I can make excuses all day for why my weight loss has stalled (the stress of job hunting, ups and downs in my personal life, general anxiety, etc.), but the truth is I haven’t been working very hard at living a healthy life for a while now.  As a result, my weight has slowly started to creep back up, but it ends now.

I really believe that I can accomplish anything I set out to do.  I was lucky enough to be raised by parents who supported me through every crazy dream I had (becoming a professional singer, for one) or activity I wanted to pursue (piano lessons, softball, etc.), never once telling me I wasn’t capable of doing something.  My mom even wanted me to become a brain surgeon, but that’s a story for a different day J

I’m ready now to commit fully to losing the rest of my weight.  As I was assembling the before and during pictures for my weight loss page last night (the full story of my weight loss journey coming soon!), I realized how far I’ve come already.  I’ve already done most of the job, now I just have to make the final push!

I decided on a silly little mantra to get me through my first few weeks of re-committing: WWAD?, as in What Would an “After” Do? I’m going to use it a ton this weekend, especially when I go out to dinner on Friday and Sunday night.  For example:

Would an after order a cheeseburger and fries? Maybe once in a while, but an after would probably have some balance and order the cheeseburger with a side salad instead.

Would an after have an appetizer and dessert? Probably not.  An after would look at the menu, decide which one was worth the splurge, and enjoy it guilt-free!

Would an after let one “bad” meal derail his/her weight loss efforts? NO! Every meal is a new opportunity to make a good choice.

Wish me luck!

Are there any tools/mantras/thoughts you use everyday to help you make good lifestyle choices?

2 Responses

  1. Oooh I love the mantra!! I think it’s great that you are looking at it as if you are already at your goal. That is a great way to accomplish the last part of your journey. Because you will be living the after all the time! YAYAYAY! This inspires me. YAY Kara!

  2. That is a great mantra. I have the same struggles with going out to eat. I would normally order the most yummy looking thing on the menu, but now I actually have to think smartly on how I order. Substituting the salad for fries is somehting I do…and the way I do that is…my boyfriend always gets the fries, so I steal a couple and get my fix and I don’t feel like I’m missing out…works perfectly everytime:) Also, I enjoy appetizers and desert a lot more than entrees. Sometimes I order a appetizer with a small salad or two appetizers for my meal, then split dessert with the boyfriend.

Leave a Reply

