It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas…

…in our apartment, at least!  I fell in love with almost everything in this year’s Crate and Barrel holiday catalogue, and decided to take a trip there today after work.  A few hours later a few dollars later, I came home with two very full bags of Christmas decorating goodness! 😀

I absolutely love Christmas decorations; when I was a kid, it wasn’t really the holidays until we put up the tree and brought out all of the ornaments and decorations.  I think my favorite thing about holiday decorating is all the history associated with Christmas ornaments.  No one ever buys a complete set of ornaments that they use every year; ornaments are accumulated like memories over the course of a lifetime, and each one has its own unique story behind it.

Helping my dad decorate the tree was one of my favorite chores growing up, and over the years I got to hear the stories behind all of the ornaments in my mom and dad’s collection (aside from the ones lost in the great garbage bag debacle of the ’70s — I’m sure you can imagine what happened).  I always loved the fact that they had ornaments older than I was!

Since we can’t have a tree in our current place (fire hazard and Barkley hazard!), Matt and I don’t have much of an ornament collection yet.  Hopefully we’ll accumulate an impressive one over the next few years 🙂

Now, let’s talk food!!  Breakfast was instant Irish oatmeal with a bit of brown sugar:

I added a little bit less water to get a thicker oatmeal, but it still doesn’t have the awesome oaty consistency the Starbucks oatmeal has.  Maybe I should try making overnight oats or slow cooker oatmeal with the non-instant stuff?  What do you find has the best consistency?

My unpictured lunch was pretty boring, but tasty — an Amy’s organic mac and cheese.  Have I mentioned how much I love Amy’s?  All of their products are vegetarian and made with whole foods, aka the stuff you can recognize and pronounce!  They are also trans-fat free and Kosher.

I snacked on a bunch of fruit at work: two unpictured mandarin orange cups, an orange (my first of the fall/winter — delicious!) and some raspberries:

I think I’m getting a little better at food photography!  Maybe I just had really delicious-looking subjects 😉

Dinner was something I had been craving for a while: a Chipotle steak salad with fajita veggies, mild salsa, corn salsa and cheese.  I also got some tortilla chips on the side.  All in all, the PERFECT meal:

So darn tasty!  Even better is Chipotle’s commitment to “Food With Integrity“.  As they explain on their site:

It’s a philosophy that we can always do better in terms of the food we buy. And when we say better, we mean better in every sense of the word- better tasting, coming from better sources, better for the environment, better for the animals, and better for the farmers who raise the animals and grow the produce.

The hallmarks of Food With Integrity include things like unprocessed, seasonal, family-farmed, sustainable, nutritious, naturally raised, added hormone free, organic, and artisanal. And, since embracing this philosophy, it’s had tremendous impact on how we run our restaurants and our business. It’s led us to serve more naturally raised meat than any other restaurant in the country, to push for more sustainable practices in produce farming, and to work with dairy suppliers to eliminate the use of added hormones from their operations.

Now, who can’t get behind that? 😀

3 Responses

  1. I love decorating for Christmas too! You should post some pics! Good luck with your goals this week:)

  2. I’d love to, but the husband decided we have to wait until after Thanksgiving to decorate the apartment!
    As soon as I put everything up I’ll post pics 🙂

  3. […] I mentioned yesterday, I went to Crate and Barrel to get a bunch of Christmas decorations for our apartment.  I also […]

Leave a Reply

