Diet faux pas and a few things I’m thankful for

Quick hello before I start my evening baking project(s)!  Blog readers, I have to confess.  I broke the cardinal rule of healthy eating this morning:

I DIDN’T EAT BREAKFAST.

I know this is shocking; how could possibly I skip the most important meal of the day?? (dun, dun, DUNNN!)  Well, there were three reasons: coffee, laziness, and I generally wasn’t hungry.  As for the first reason, I like my coffee very light — about a 2:1 ratio of coffee to milk — and when you start the day with three giant mugs of coffee like I do, that’s a pretty solid 1 1/2 cups of filling, protein-rich skim milk right there.  When you add cold, overcast weather to the picture and a Clif bar as a very late-night snack the night before, breakfast becomes a low priority.  Unsurprisingly, I had quite a substantial lunch! 🙂  But more on that later.

I have about a million things to be thankful for, on Thanksgiving Day and every day of my life.  I have a wonderful, stable job at a great institution that fulfills my passion, makes me excited to get up every morning, and, on top of everything else, pays the bills.  I live my life in the greatest city in the world, surrounded by my wonderful and supportive family and friends.  I have a strong, healthy body that carries me everywhere I want to go, and it is getting stronger and healthier by the day.

I have the most amazing, kind and supportive dad in the world:

I have a hilarious dog that fills my life with unconditional love:

And I have the most wonderful husband a girl could possibly ask for.

Every day with Matt is better than the last, and I still can’t believe my luck that I get to spend the rest of my life with the love of my life and my best friend in the whole world.

What are you thankful for this year?

2 Responses

  1. […] I mentioned earlier, I didn’t have breakfast this morning, save for 3 cups of coffee.  I was starving by […]

  2. I love your pics Kara.

    Also I hear you on the skipping breakfast. The days I do I’m famished but I sometimes am just not hungry.

Leave a Reply

